SEPTEMBER 13, 2017
Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 06:18PM
(John Thawley ~ Motorsports Photography @ ~ 248.227.0110)
 Andy Lally (
No. 50 GoShare/Burtin Racing Chevrolet Camaro) won at Watkins Glen International over the weekend in his Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli debut. Lally, despite starting on pole, had to claw back back from 17th overall after an early pit stop. Lally would lead the initial laps, consistently pulling away from the field, until entering the pits at the end of the third lap. “We had a very clean green flag and opened up a nice gap on the first lap, but right away the right rear sensor started coming on,” said Lally. “I could feel the tire going down; it was a slow leak. I was in denial. I was fighting it the whole time. I didn’t want to pit and find out it was pickup or something like that. I kept driving, going up over the crest of turn three, grabbing fifth gear at 170 mph and the backend started to shake around a little bit. It was starting to get loose — we ran three or four laps like that until I gave in and had to pit. But that gave the crew time to prep for the pit stop. They nailed a really fast stop, replaced the right rear, and we went right back out right as the full course yellow came out. That let us gather the field back up; we were 17th overall and then we were able to battle through them.” Amy Ruman (No. 23 McNichols Company Chevrolet Corvette) finished second and Paul Fix (No. 4 StopFlex/ClassicTube/CarCoach Chevrolet Corvette) finished third after being passed by Ruman in the closing laps. Lally, who first attended a Trans Am race as a guest of Bob Ruman, Amy’s father, remarked on the sharing of the podium with the two-time TA class champion. “Very cool — what a full circle deal there. To get to know Bob all those years ago and to race against his daughter who’s a multiple time champion here and come home one and two at my home state and at my favorite track, you couldn’t have written the weekend any better. I want to come back and do as many of these as I can.“ Check out John Thawley's fantastic images from Watkins Glen in our AE Gallery here.
(John Thawley ~ Motorsports Photography @ ~ 248.227.0110)
Tony Buffomante (
No. 34 Bestline Superior Lubricants Ford Mustang) secured his fourth TA2 class win of the 2017 season at Watkins Glen International, leading the 19-car TA2 field to the checkered flag in the 102-mile race around the 3.4-mile track. Buffomante, the 2016 TA2 champion, was joined on the podium by two other former champs — Gar Robinson (No. 74 Pura Vida Tequila/74 Ranch Resort Chevrolet Camaro), 2015, and Cameron Lawrence (No. 19 Class Auto Chevrolet Camaro), 2014 and 2013 — completing the podium. The victory is the 11th of Buffomante’s TA2 career. Check out more superb images from The Glen Trans Am by John Thawley here.
(Volkswagen images)
Tanner Foust (No. 34 Rockstar Energy Drink Beetle GRC ) was nearly perfect in Seattle, claiming two victories in the 2017 Red Bull Global Rallycross season’s last doubleheader, almost ensuring a Driver’s Championship victory for one of the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross teammates at the season finale in Los Angeles. Scott Speed (No. 41 Oberto Circle K Beetle GRC) protected his lead in the championship points by finishing second in both events at Evergreen Speedway behind his teammate. The results bring the team its fifth and sixth 1-2 finishes of the season, continuing the team's reign at the top team of the Red Bull Global Rallycross championship.       

Marc Marquez (No. 93 Repsol Honda Team RC213V) took his fourth MotoGP win of the year in a high-stakes duel in torrential rain at the Misano World Circuit. Marquez pounced on Danilo Petrucci (No. 9 Octo Pramac Racing Ducati) on the very last lap for another big win. That gives Marquez the Championship lead once again as Andrea Dovizioso (No. 4 Ducati Team GP17) came home third. Marquez and Dovizioso are now equal on points and equal on wins, with Marquez ahead by virtue of more second-place finishes.
(Sean Gardner/Getty Images)
A caution on Lap 397 of a scheduled 400 in Saturday night’s Federated Auto Parts 400 turned what looked like an easy win for Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Auto-Owners Insurance Toyota Camry) into an unexpected overtime victory for Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Target Chevrolet), as the field of 16 drivers was set for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs. Truex, the regular-season champ, had a comfortable lead over Larson when Derrike Cope (No. 15 Premium Motorsports Starcom Fiber Chevrolet) brushed the outside wall with three laps left in regulation. Larson won the race off pit road after the lead-lap cars pitted for tires and pulled away from a restart on Lap 403.
One lap later, contact between the Toyotas of Truex and Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing FEDEX EXPRESS Toyota) sent Truex into the Turn 1 wall, and the race ended under caution with Larson in the lead and Joey Logano (No. 22 Team Penske Shell Pennzoil Red Cross Ford), who needed a win to qualify for the postseason, finishing in second place after restarting from ninth. Ryan Newman (No. 31 Richard Childress Racing Caterpillar Chevrolet) finished third.
(Sean Gardner/Getty Images)
The 16-driver field for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs, with the seeding and points: 1. Martin Truex Jr.: 2,053 points; 2. Kyle Larson: 2,033; 3. Kyle Busch: 2,029; 4. Brad Keselowski: 2,019; 5. Jimmie Johnson: 2,017; 6. Kevin Harvick: 2,015; 7. Denny Hamlin: 2,013; 8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.: 2,010; 9. Ryan Blaney: 2,008; 10. Chase Elliott: 2,006; 11. Ryan Newman: 2,005; 12. Kurt Busch: 2,005; 13. Kasey Kahne: 2,005; 14. Austin Dillon: 2,005; 15. Matt Kenseth: 2,005; 16. Jamie McMurray: 2,003.
This is the BMW M8 GTE, the car BMW Motorsport will race in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GTLM class (with a new team TBA) and what's left of the WEC, including the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Why the company chose to race this hulking, luxury coupe instead of the M4 Coupe is anyone's guess.

Article originally appeared on ~ the bare-knuckled, unvarnished, high octane truth... (
See website for complete article licensing information.